So Many Lists – Who’s Watching Who?

Share This:

Health & Safety Tip

By: John Gobbels, Medjet COO

The government’s watch list or “No Fly” list is a group of individuals who are not permitted to board a commercial aircraft for travel in or out of the United States. The list, along with the Secondary Security Screening Selection, which tags would-be passengers for extra inspection was created after the September 11, 2001 attacks.

Due to the failure of the CAPPSII program, TSA officials began the “Registered Traveler” program and most recently a program called “Secure Flight.” Secure Flight was implemented to address security threats sooner and by creating one system, the program will provide a fair and consistent matching process across all airlines thus reducing your chance of being misidentified.

So what does this mean for travelers? What it means is that beginning this year the TSA will assume responsibility for checking passengers against Secure Flight. Under the new system we will be required to provide our full name, date of birth, gender and Redress Number if available. Those individuals who encounter misidentification should apply for Redress at to prevent misidentification in the future.

At this point, TSA will match this information against the government watch lists to identify known or suspected terrorists. By providing this information in advance, most passengers will not experience any differences from the way they traveled before as a result of Secure Flight.

As frequent flyers, we can only hope that someone is watching and the inconvenience is relative to the level of security afforded us during our travels. In any event, fly smart, fly safe and don’t leave home without your Medjet card.

For more information click on the image above or visit: